- at the then last preceding Re-adjustment of the Number of Members for the Province is ascertained at the then latest Census to be diminished by One Twentieth Part or upwards;
- (5) Such Readjustment shall not take effect until the Termination of the then existing Parliament.

Again, in section 52, it was enacted that "the number of members of the House of Commons may be from time to time increased by the Parliament of Canada, provided the proportionate representation of the Provinces prescribed by this Act is not thereby disturbed."

Later on, by the British North America Act of 1886 (49-50 Vict., c. 35), provision was made in section 1 that "the Parliament of Canada may from time to time make provision for the representation in the Senate and House of Commons of Canada, or in either of them, of any territories which for the time being form part of the Dominion of Canada, but are not included in any province thereof."

Again, in 1915, an amendment to the British North America Act (5-6 Geo. V, c. 45) was passed by the Imperial Parliament, providing that "notwithstanding anything in the said Act, a province shall always be entitled to a number of members in the House of Commons not less than the number of senators representing such province."

Readjustments in Representation.—As set out in the above-mentioned provisions of the British North America Act, the first Dominion Parliament of 1867 consisted at its commencement of 181 members, 82 for Ontario, 65 for Quebec, 19 for Nova Scotia and 15 for New Brunswick. To this number were added, under the Manitoba Act of 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3), 4 members to represent the newly created province of Manitoba; also, according to the agreement under which British Columbia entered Confederation, ratified by Imperial Order in Council of May 16, 1871, 6 members were added to represent the new province, making a total of 191 members at the end of the first Parliament of Canada.

Arising out of the first census of the Dominion in 1871, a readjustment of representation took place in 1872 (c. 15 of 1872), increasing the representation of Ontario from 82 to 88, of Nova Scotia from 19 to 21 and of New Brunswick from 15 to 16 members, the nine additional members bringing the total number of representatives up to 200. To these were added in 1874, as a result of the agreement under which Prince Edward Island entered Confederation (ratified by Imperial Order in Council of June 26, 1873), six members representing that province—bringing the membership of the House of Commons to 206.

The results of the second census of 1881 necessitated the passage of a new Representation Act (45 Vict., c. 3), increasing the representation of Ontario from 88 to 92 and that of Manitoba from 4 to 5, thus bringing the membership of the House of Commons to 211 members. To these were added, under the provisions of 49 Vict., c. 24, passed in 1886, 4 members for the Northwest Territories (2 for the then provisional district of Assiniboia and 1 each for the then provisional districts of Alberta and Saskatchewan), bringing the total membership to 215.

The third census of 1891 was followed by another readjustment of representation, reducing the representation of Nova Scotia from 21 to 20, of New Brunswick from 16 to 14, of Prince Edward Island from 6 to 5, and increasing the representation of Manitoba from 5 to 7, the representation of the other provinces remaining